The Bear Specialist Group (BSG) is one of 140 Specialist Groups within the International Union for the Conservation of Nature (IUCN) oversees the conservation of the 7 species of terrestrial bears (all but the polar bear, which being a marine mammal is handled by a separate Specialist Group).

Bear Specialist Group Leadership

Dave Garshelis, BSG Co-Chair

Robert Steinmetz, BSG Co-Chair

Michael Proctor, BSG Deputy Chair

Bruce McLellen, BSG Red List Authority Focal Point

Trusted Partners

International Union for Conservation of Nature

International Association for Bear Research & Management